Chicken with Mushrooms & Asparagus: Low Calorie & Satisfying

I know that as a makeup artist, my blog centers on makeup & beauty, but I wanted to share this recipe because I absolutely love it. In an effort to shed some unwanted weight, I have been counting calories, increasing my water consumption, & increasing my physical activity. For me, the biggest component to weight-loss has always been counting calories. In an effort to maintain a nutritious & balanced diet while counting calories, I find that I cook at home much more often because, let’s face it, restaurant diet food is just never very good (if you can find it at all).

This recipe is my ‘go to’ for calorie counting, when I’m not sure what else to make. It contains a good amount of healthy fat & protein; it is filling, tasty, & satisfying & very quick & easy to make. The asparagus offers a bit of ‘crunch’ to satisfy the need for texture too. Adding garlic or red pepper flakes is also wonderful for adding flavor & I’ve recently read a lot of information which suggests that spicy foods help to stimulate the metabolism. The final thing I really love about this recipe is that it is versatile; in the past, I have eaten it for four or five lunches in one week by swapping out peeled shrimp in place of the chicken or by adding other veggies like broccoli, onions, spinach, or thinly sliced squash.

Here is the basic recipe for a single serving:

1 TBSP organic garlic infused olive oil (basic olive oil is also good. We purchased our delicious oil from Albuquerque Olive Oil Co.)

4 oz frozen chicken strips (I used Fully Cooked Tyson Grilled Chicken Breasts)

4-5 large stalks of asparagus with the bottoms snapped off & broken into 1 inch pieces

2-3 sliced mushrooms

1/2 tsp. minced garlic

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic salt

Start by heating  the oil on med-high in a small skillet. Add the garlic, asparagus, chicken, spices & mushrooms & sauté, covered until the mushrooms begin to release their juices & the chicken is fully thawed & begins to form a golden brown color. Stir occasionally, cooking takes approximately 5 minutes.

Chicken Recipe

See? Very quick & easy. I hope you enjoy it & if you’re calorie counting right now, like I am, best of luck- we can do this 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

